This site is not intended for all audiences.
Please read Important Links before continuing if this is your first visit.


An Introduction to my Subspace


April 28, 2003, 11:39 p.m.

So far, the general attitude in my articles has pretty much seemed fine and dandy and portrayed an "all is well" kind of feeling. If that was honestly the case, there wouldn't be much need for this journal. The real issue that I continually face over and over is when I come to an internal conflict and freeze up. The culprit here is subspace. Every sub I know, and every case that I've read, about what is experienced, seems completely unique. There is, however, some mild consensus on at least one of the phases many subs go through.

The "Dumb Blonde" stage is an mindset that seems to arise when the only questions asked, that can be answered somewhat correctly, are with a "yes" or "no" answer. Environment judgement and self-evaluation seems to evaporate into a temporary black hole along with complex words and phrases to describe wants and feelings. In my own case, I find that when I hit subspace I slip far enough that talking becomes physically difficult. Sometimes I can blurt out a word or two, but there is a question of whether I actually mean what I'm saying, or if I'm only verbalizing somewhat random words in my head. "How do you feel?" ... "good". "Good", is about as vauge as it gets, and if a sub answers with that word, knowing that they're focused on internal struggles or hyperfocused on the scene, you can pretty much assume the only reason they used that word, is because it's the only one in their head. At least, that's what happens to me.

This is a major source of frustration for me. This is mostly because a Dominant needs to know where I am, what I want, and what will push me. It is especially an issue when not dealing with a face to face scene, such as over the phone. What can the dom do if he can't see that I'm physically struggling to answer his questions and carry out his requests? What happens when we run into a situation I'm not mentally prepared for, didn't even think to bring it up before hand as a limit, and find myself faced with trying to explain my displeasure. While under the strong push of subspace, my mind is focused on trying to please. Hello Conflict.

I want to please, I have a desire to let myself go, and yet when my mind is presented with something face to face, it screams, "Oh no you don't!". I freeze up, I can't communicate, and worst of all, I feel like an utter failure. I wasn't able to do as he asked, much less please him with my cooperation and obedience. Just a few days ago, I was so frustrated with being in scene after scene where either I didn't sink at all, or when I did, I flipped out before having anything happen that I wrote the following email to someone. The person I scened with was very understanding of my 'episode' and even took the time to point out my good attributes.

If i had a successful session somewhere that I didn't freak out and start crying, I might believe [his compliments]. If I thought I could do more than just kneel without falling into emotional turmoil, it might be true. But how can I honestly go on believing that what I truly want is to be a submissive, when time after time of trying, my mind seems to refuse the allowance?

I fail.. every single time. I am incapable of turning it all off, shutting up my mind, being stupid on purpose, ignoring the obvious, being an orgasmic light switch (great! you're turned on and horny, now i'm going to use you and make you want something else while I get off.. in the mean time, you can't get off. Ok, now you can get off. What's the problem? Why aren't you getting off? .. Why did you lose steam? I thought you were getting into this.), explaining what my "problem" is, "what is it that blocks" me, having premonitions of what random thing that might come up into the Dominants head (which if he told me would ruin the unknown/fear/push/control factor) that could potentially cause me to wig out, and most of all completely dismissing the person who i've grown up to be, who I feel is the best person I could possibly be, just for the sake of making other people feel better about themselves.
Sometime, a long time ago, I had successful drops. When I think about it, I can't seem to remember any specific instances or scenes. I don't even know if I can distinguish the difference between simply trancing out and sinking into my head. While I was making this journal, I was intending this to be my first entry and I foresaw a good deal of self-loathing and miserable feelings for the future. In an odd turn of events, last night i had a very successful session. I dropped to a mild level, and while I wasn't required to speak I remained able to perform my actions while maintaining the delicious buzz. My partner did an excellent job, feeling out what I wanted, where I was mentally and when he could push. I didn't close up, although I felt some tension, it was always quickly balanced out. I managed to stay in the full state for well over 2 hours, and felt a lingering happiness all day today.

So it would seem there's hope for me yet. My desire really is there, and I have access to it. I'll simply need to explore a little slower. Last night's session has given me hope for the future and helped erase a little bit of that endless void of hopelessness I felt so utterly trapped in. It would seem that the complements I have been given in the past have not been in vain. So perhaps someday I will make an excellent submissive. At least now, I can see it's possibility.

<<< previous ----- {archive} ----- next >>>


all articles � 2003, mint - absolutely no reprinting or publishing without express permission